RSS

The Best Things In Life

01 Mar

I have never been so glad to see anything as I was to see a tender little cluster of white crocuses in a neighbor’s yard this morning. After enduring weeks of  a winter that was rough in every way,  I stepped out into the first warm rays of early spring. It was like walking into a pair of loving arms.

These days I am quite dependent on nature’s embrace. How grateful I am that she bestows affection without prejudice. The sun’s rays fall equally on the blessed and the troubled. Birdsong and bright flowers are ubiquitous.

I am thankful that as the days have gotten longer the sun has become a playful companion, putting her radiant face up to my windows and doors, beckoning me to leave my shell of loneliness and venture out into the world. It’s as if the fingers of light playing on my drawn shades were  gentle hands reaching for me and pulling me out of my ennui, inviting me to shake off shyness and fear, dare to hope, dare to smile, dare to dance.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
